Deleting Unused Layers

Reference Number: KB-00169
Last Modified: July 16, 2015

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors


I have imported a DWG or DXF file with its own layers, and now want to delete them. How can I accomplish this task?


Layers can be deleted through the Layer Display Options dialog.

To delete unused layers from your plan

  1. Select Tools> Layer Settings> Display Options .

  2. If you want to make sure to delete the unused layers from all your layer sets, check the Modify All Layer Sets checkbox.

  3. Navigate to the layer from your imported file that you want to delete, select it to highlight it, and then click the Delete button to delete the selected layer.

    You cannot delete used layers or any of the system layers used by Chief Architect.