Browse
Categories

Deleting Unused CAD Blocks from a Plan

Reference Number: KB-00380 Last Updated: 10-21-2013 02:14 PM

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors or Chief Architect Lite


QUESTION


Is there a way I can delete the unused ­CAD blocks that are referenced in my plan?


ANSWER


Using the CAD Block Management feature, you can view a list of all CAD blocks referenced in the current plan, rename them, place them into the plan, delete an unused CAD block or quickly purge all unused CAD blocks from the plan. 

Deleting or purging unused CAD blocks will allow you to reduce the overall size of your plan.



To manage CAD blocks in a plan

  1. Select CAD> CAD Block Management  from the menu.


  2. In the CAD Block Management dialog, a list of all CAD blocks referenced in your plan - up to 490 in total - displays on the left.  



    • To add an item from the list to your plan, click on that item, then click the Insert button. The dialog will close and your cursor will display the CAD Block  icon. Click to place the selected CAD block at that location in the current view window.

    • Click on a CAD block in the list, then click the Rename button to rename all instances of that item in the current plan. Items in the library will not be renamed - only objects placed in the plan.

    • Put a checkmark in Automatically Purge CAD Blocks to have the program automatically purge all CAD blocks no longer in use.

      • Only available in X3 and newer.


  3. Click the Purge button to mark all unused CAD blocks in the list as DELETED in the list.


  4. Click on an unused CAD block in the list, then click the Delete button to mark this individual item as DELETED.

    • Click on a CAD block marked as DELETED in the list, then click the Undelete button to removed its DELETED designation.


  5. When you are satisfied with the CAD block list, click OK to close the dialog and delete all items marked as DELETED.