Browse
Categories

Turning Off the Reference Grid Display

Reference Number: KB-00656 Last Updated: 07-30-2014 08:44 AM

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors or Chief Architect Lite

QUESTION

When I start Chief Architect, I notice that a grid is present in the ­plan view. I can zoom in or out, pan to the left or right, but the grid is always visible. How can I turn the grid on or off, or modify its appearance?

ANSWER

There are actually two grids in Chief Architect: the ­Snap Grid and the ­Reference Grid. The display of both is easily controlled by following these steps.  

To modify the reference grid or snap grid

  1. Open the plan in which you would like to modify the grid. It is important to remember that the grid defaults are plan-specific. If you turn a grid off in one plan, for example, it will still be visible when you open a different plan.  


  2. From the menu, select Edit> Default Settings  to open the Default Settings dialog. Highlight the entry for Plan with a single left click and then click on the Edit button to open the General Plan Defaults dialog.  




  3. In the middle of the dialog, you will see the Snap Grid/Snap Units settings.  

    • Place a check in the box beside Use Snap Grid/Units to enable grid snapping and in the Snap unit field, specify a measurement at which snapping should occur.

    • Place a check beside Show Snap Grid to display the Snap Grid in floor plan view.

    • Click the color box to open the Color Chooser dialog and select a custom color for the Snap Grid.

    • Place a check beside Display as dots to display the Snap Grid as dotted instead of solid lines.


  4. A bit further down are the Reference Grid settings.  

    • Place a check in Show Reference Grid box and specify the Grid Size.

    • As with the Snap Grid, the line color can be specified, as can solid or dotted lines.  


  5. When you are finished adjusting the Snap Grid/Snap Units and Reference Grid Settings, click the OK button to close the General Plan Defaults dialog and apply your settings.  


  6. Lastly, click the Done button in the Default Settings dialog to apply your changes to the plan file.