Browse
Categories

Managing Your Archive Plan and Layout Files

Reference Number: KB-00775 Last Updated: 11-25-2013 01:05 PM

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors or Chief Architect Lite

QUESTION


I see that every time I create a new plan or layout file, Chief Architect creates an ­archive folder and then automatically saves copies of the file into that folder. Will all these files slow down my computer's performance? Also, what should I do when the program prompts me to manage these archive files?


ANSWER


The Auto Archive utility in Chief Architect automatically creates a historical archive of each plan and layout file that you name and save.

The intention of the backup archives is to enable a quick recovery in the event that your production drawing becomes unusable. If your production plan is undamaged and usable, you can open an archived copy to retrieve some, although not necessarily all, of your work. Because of this, Chief Architect's Auto Archive function should not be regarded as an alternative to regularly saving and backing up your work yourself.

The location of the archive folder depends on which version of Chief Architect you are using.

  • In Chief Architect X1 and later, archive folders are created in the Chief Architect X1 Data folder located in the user's "Documents" folder.



    While it may be a common concern, it is important to realize the archive files won't take up much room on your hard drive, nor will numerous archives inhibit or otherwise slow down your computer. Why? Modern hard drives are very large, and the amount of space consumed by the archive folder is minescule by comparison. Because only open, currently running files will slow down your computer's performance, the archive files, (which you won't need to open in most circumstances) won't adversely affect your computer's performance.

    When you save your drawing, the Auto Archived Files warning message may open, letting you know how many files are currently in the file's archive for the file and asking if you wish to manage these archived files. Managing these files means either deleting old, unneeded archives or backing up these files somewhere off of your computer, such as on an external hard drive or server, or on a CD, DVD or flash drive.


    To manage archive files

    1. When the Auto Archived Files message opens, click Yes. A Windows Explorer window will open, displaying the contents of the Archive folder.


    2. If your Auto Archive utility is set to save hourly or daily, your archive files will have a date/time stamp appending their file names.

      • If you do not see date/time stamps on your archive files, select View> Details from the menu. This will allow you to see the last Date Modified for each file so you can identify the oldest files.


    3. Copy the archive files to an external hard drive, a server computer or back up these archives to an external media, like a CD or DVD.


    4. Once your archive files are backed up, you can delete some or all of the archive files in the Archive Folder if you wish.


    The Auto Archived Files message regarding the management of archive files appears once the number of archive files reaches a specific, pre-determined number. You can specify this Maximum File number or, if you want to, you can turn off this warning feature altogether.


    To control the Manage Archive prompt

    1. First, open Chief Architect.


    2. From the menu, select Edit> Preferences .

      •  On a MAC, navigate to Chief Architect> Preferences



      On the left side of the
      Preferences dialog box, under General, select File Management.



      In Chief Architect X2 and prior, these settings were located under the main "General" category.


    3. On the right side of the dialog box, specify how many archive files should be created before the Auto Archive Warning displays in the Maximum Files text field.

      • If you would like to turn off this warning, change the Auto Archive Warning Maximum Files value to zero (0).

        You can also specify whether Auto Archive Files are created Hourly, Daily, or by Previous Save. 



    4. Click the OK button at the bottom of the dialog box.


      WARNING: To protect your work, you should not delte the archive files until you have met the following  criteria:

      First, the project in question has been completed. 

      Next, the .plan files for this project, as well as all associated archive files should be backed up to a CD, DVD, USB Flash drive, or other external media. 

      Once these files have been backed up and your project has been completed, the archive files on your hard drive can be safely deleted.