Message: The material was duplicated. It was renamed to avoid confusion.

Reference Number: KB-01326
Last Modified: July 16, 2015

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors

Home Designer Professional


In one of my plan files, I often encounter a message that presents repeatedly and says:

"The material "___" was duplicated. It was renamed to avoid confusion."

What is causing this and how can I prevent it?


This message will display when the program detects multiple materials in a plan file that have the same name. To prevent the message from continuing to display, you can purge unused materials from the plan.

To purge unused materials from a plan

  1. Open the plan file in question.

  2. Select 3D> Materials> Plan Materials from the menu.

  3. In the Plan Materials dialog:

    • Scroll through the list of materials on the left and notice the number of materials that do not have a check-mark beside them.

    • Click the Purge button.

    • Notice that the materials in the list with no check-marks are now gone.

    • Click OK to close the dialog.