The information in this article applies to:
When I logged into my Digital Locker, I was given the option to upgrade to the newest version -- what do I need to know before clicking "Upgrade"?
Do I need to backup my old data before upgrading? If so, how?
When clicking on the UPGRADE TO CHIEF ARCHITECT PREMIER X7 button below your active Chief Architect download, you will be prompted with the following message:
"Thank you for upgrading!
Any older program versions present on your system will NOT be modified by installing Chief Architect Premier X7. However, this license of Chief Architect Premier X6 will be removed from your Digital Locker web page. You may want to make a backup of the Chief Architect Premier X6 installer and write down the product key for your records:
Continue with your upgrade?"
By clicking OK, your older version Chief Architect product key and download links will be removed and replaced with a new product key and download links for the new version of Chief Architect.
For your records, you may want to document the old Product Key displayed on this dialog, then click either OK to continue the upgrade process, or Cancel to avoid making any changes and return to the digital locker.
By choosing to upgrade, you are upgrading your license only, and not the software itself. Any current program installation(s), plan files, or any other local content will not be modified or removed by the upgrade. Each version of Chief Architect is an independent installation, and will install separately from any and all previous installations.
Before upgrading your license and download links, you may choose to save a copy of the previous program installer file, in the event you need to re-install it for any reason.