Browse
Categories

Message: Warning 1910. Could not remove Shortcut Chief Architect.Ink.

Reference Number: KB-02794 Last Updated: 07-09-2014 09:21 AM

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors or Chief Architect Lite

Home Designer Professional or Home Designer Architectural or Home Designer Suite or Home Designer Interiors or Home Designer Essentials or Home Designer Landscape & Deck

QUESTION

While uninstalling my Chief Architect program I receive the following message:

"Warning 1910. Could not remove Shortcut <shortcut name>.lnk. Verify that the shortcut file exists and that you can access it.".



ANSWER

This warning is occurring because the Chief Architect uninstaller is attempting to remove the shortcut to the program from the Desktop. However, if the Public Desktop's desktop.ini file is set as Read Only then this operation will fail.

The desktop.ini file is a hidden file used to customize and adjust settings for the Windows folders that contain the file. 

In other words, this file saves information about the folder it is stored in so that your settings for that folder remain the same unless you change them.


To remove the Read Only attribute from the desktop.ini file

  1. Open File Explorer.

    This can be done by pressing Windows Key + E on the keyboard.


  2. Under the View menu select Options and then select Change folder and search options.




  3. In the Folder Options dialog switch to the View tab and select Show hidden files, folders, and drives then uncheck Hide protected operating system files (Recommended).




  4. Choose Yes to the warning dialog that appears when choosing not to hide operating system files then click Apply and OK in the Folder Options dialog.




  5. Now navigate to C:\Users\Public\Desktop and right-click the desktop.ini file choosing Properties.




  6. In the Properties dialog clear the Read-only check box and click Apply then OK.

     


    When finished uninstalling it is recommended that you follow steps 1-3 again to undo the changes made in Folder Options.