Chief Architect Help Database - Article Number: 167
How to Delete Layer SetsThe information in this article applies to:
- Chief Architect X5
- Chief Architect X4
- Chief Architect X3
- Chief Architect X2
I have a number of layer sets entitled Layer Set # in my plan that I would like to delete. Why are these being created, and how can I delete them?
Layer sets are an effective way to control not just what displays while you are working, but what displays in the views you send to layout and print.
When you send a view to layout, you have two choices as to which layer set the view uses:
- You can use the same layer set as the original view being sent to layout.
- You can make a copy of the layer set used by the original view.
Your choice is maintained between sessions.
If you have a checkmark in Make Copy of Active Layer Set when you send a view to the layout, and do not change the name, the program will create a new layer set with the name of Layer Set #
When this option is checked, a copy of the currently active layer set is created for use by the layout view. You can specify a New Name for this layer set if you wish. The copied layout set is saved with the plan file that the view is sent from.
If you uncheck Make Copy of Active Layer Set, instead of creating a new Layout Set #, the view will reference the currently active layer set in the layout view.
You can find out which layer set a layout view is using by selecting it and clicking the Layout Box Layers edit button.
If you select a layout view and click the Open View edit button, you will return to the original view in the plan file. Bear in mind that the layout view’s layer set will be active. If you make changes to its settings, the view on the layout page will be affected.
Deleting layer sets
- Select Tools> Display Settings> Layer Set Management .
- Highlight the layer you want to delete and click the Delete button to delete the selected layer set from the current file.
WARNING: If the Delete button is greyed out, the selected layer set can be deleted. You cannot delete the active layer set or any layer set in use as a default.
Do not delete any layer sets that are used by a layout.
Article Number 799: How to use Layer Set Defaults
Last updated on: Mar 28, 2013