The information in this article applies to:
When I open a layout file, a Referenced Plan Files dialog opens displaying a list of files present in layout and files not found in layout. This window has the plan file listed in the second section and the views do not display. Why is that?
The reason why this dialog appears is because Chief Architect can no longer find one or more plan files from which views have been sent. The result of this broken link is that views sent from the plan can no longer be displayed in the layout.
To resolve this issue, you can re-link the layout file to the appropriate plan file(s), restoring the views in the layout. There are also some preventative measures you can take to avoid this from happening in the future.
When working with layout files, it's helpful to remember that views sent to layout are not actually relocated into that file. Rather, layout views can be thought of as "windows" that look back onto the original view in the plan file.
One benefit of this arrangement is that if you make changes to the plan file, the changes will appear immediately in many types of layout views (floor plan view, for example). In order to do this, though, the program must be able to locate the original plan file that the views were sent from. If this file is moved or deleted, the link to the layout will be broken and the views that were sent to layout will disappear.
The following are some recommendations for maintaining links between plan and layout files.
If you store your plan files in "My Documents", for example, you also need to store your layout files there.
To avoid both long path names and broken file links, it is extremely important that you never save your work inside the Archive folders.
Avoid moving either the plan or the layout file.
If one of these files must be moved, it is best to move them both together, along with any supporting files, such as images.
If you need to move files from one computer to another, use the Backup Entire Plan function.