Managing Chief Architect 3D Viewer files


Reference Number: KB-03046
Last Modified: November 16, 2016

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors


QUESTION

I want to create a 3D model of my plan for my clients to view on their mobile devices. Is this possible?


ANSWER

The ability to export a 3D model for use in the new Chief Architect 3D Viewer mobile app has been added to the 18.3 build of Chief Architect X8, allowing you to share 3D models of your plans with colleagues and clients. To ensure that you are running the most current version of Chief Architect software, select Help> Download Program Updates from the program menu.


To export 3D Viewer Files

  1. Open the plan that you would like to export.


  2. Create a 3D view by choosing 3D> Create Perspective View> Perspective Full Overview .


  3. Select File> Export> Export Chief Architect 3D Viewer File .


  4. If you are not already logged in the Chief Architect Account Login dialog will display.



    Log in to the online account that is associated with your Chief Architect software license.


  5. Next, the Export 3D Viewer File dialog will display. Provide a plan Name and optional Description.



    Notice that this dialog also shows the model's Surface Count and the Texture Size. It is recommended to keep the number of exported surfaces below 500,000 and exported texture memory below 50 MB. For information on how to control these numbers, please review article KB-03044: Optimizing a Chief Architect plan for Export to the 3D Viewer listed in the Related Articles section below.

  6. Click OK and a message will display stating:



To manage your Chief Architect 3D Viewer files

  1. Visit www.chiefarchitect.com and in the upper right corner click My Account.


  2. Log in using the same email address and password that you used to export the 3D model.


  3. Once logged in, click Manage Your 3D Viewer Models listed under Available Services.




  4. Any uploaded plan files will be shown here.



    • Click the Share button to generate a code that can be used to access the 3D Viewer plan file.

      Once shared, the Sharing options change to Send and Unshare.

    • Click the Send button to create a preformatted email message in your default email program, inviting the recipient to follow the selected model.

    • Click Unshare to disable the shared code and prevent anyone from viewing the model.


  5. By default, 99 plans can be available for sharing at a time. Use the Deactivate button to set a model to an Inactive status so that a new plan may be added.

    • Models will be automatically deleted from the Cloud account after 1 year of Inactive status.