Browse
Categories

Message: The material was duplicated. It was renamed to avoid confusion.

Reference Number: KB-01326 Last Updated: 07-09-2014 01:09 PM

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors or Chief Architect Lite

Home Designer Professional

QUESTION

In one of my plan files, I often encounter a message that presents repeatedly and says "The material "___" was duplicated. It was renamed to avoid confusion."  What is causing this and how can I prevent it?


ANSWER

This message will display when the program detects multiple materials in a plan file that have the same name. To prevent the message from continuing to appear, you can purge unused materials from the plan.


To purge unused materials from a plan

  1. Open the plan file in question.


  2. Select 3D> Materials> Plan Materials  from the menu.


  3. In the Plan Materials dialog:



    • Scroll through the list of materials on the left and notice the number of materials that do not have a checkmark beside them.

    • Click the Purge button.

    • Notice that the materials in the list with no checkmarks are now gone.

    • Click OK to close the dialog.