Browse
Categories

Upgrading to the Latest Version of Chief Architect

Reference Number: KB-01974 Last Updated: 09-27-2013 11:25 AM

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors or Chief Architect Lite

QUESTION


When I logged into my Digital Locker, I was given the option to upgrade to the newest version -- what do I need to know before clicking "Upgrade"?

 

Do I need do backup my old data before upgrading?  If so, how?

 


ANSWER


When clicking on the Upgrade button next to the current, active Chief Architect download, you will be prompted with the following message:

 

By clicking OK, your current Chief Architect product key and download links will be removed and replaced with a new product key and download links for the new version of Chief Architect.

For your records, you may want to document old Product Key displayed on this dialog, then click either OK to continue the upgrade process, or Cancel to avoid making any changes and return to the digital locker.

 

  Note: By choosing to upgrade, you are upgrading your license only, and not the software itself.  Any current program installation(s), plan files, or any other local content will not be modified or removed by the upgrade.  Each version of Chief Architect is an independent installation, and will install separately from any and all previous installations.



Making backups of previous installers

Before upgrading your license and download links, you may choose to save a copy of the previous program installer file, in the event you need to reinstall it for any reason.  To do so, simply choose Cancel on the above pop-up if necessary, and click the download button for the installer you want to back up.

 

Depending on your browser settings, you may be prompted to Open, Run or Save the downloader file.  If prompted, choose Open or Run (options may differ depending on your browser) in order to run the downloader (.exe), which will in turn download the installer file (.msi).

  Note: It is not necessary--nor advised--to save the downloader (.exe) file, as these programs are only functional for 14-days after they are downloaded, and are not a reliable means of obtaining the installer file after the upgrade has taken place.



When the Downloader launches, you may want to change the download location.  To do so, click the File button, and browse to a location on your computer where you want to save the installer file.


 

By default, the downloader is set to run the installer upon completion of the download, if you wish to avoid this, click Options, then click to uncheck Open This File When Done.

 


Once the download is finished, the Downloader will close and the file will be saved in the location previously specified.