Troubleshooting Why Materials Appear to Flicker When a Camera View is Rotated


Reference Number: KB-00107
Last Modified: October 12, 2026

QUESTION

When I take a 3D camera view of my plan, the materials don't look right. They appear to flicker on screen when I rotate, and look as though they are showing the materials that should be behind them.

Why is this happening, and how do I fix it so my plan displays correctly?


ANSWER

There are several different potential reasons why you may exhibit this behavior, known as z-fighting. The most common reasons are:

  • The structure is located too far from the origin.
  • You have and object very far away from your design.
  • You have a very large terrain.
  • Two materials are attempting to occupy the same space.
  • If the problem occurs in all files, then your video card driver may need updating.

To resolve the issue, we first need to determine the cause. If all of the objects in your plan appear to be exhibiting the behavior, the issue is likely related to one of the first three; either the plan is located too far from the origin, you have an object very far away from your design, or you have an exceedingly large terrain.


To resolve your structure being too far from the origin

  1. With the problematic file open, in floor plan view, move your mouse cursor around in the drawing area, and observe the X and Y coordinate values on your status bar. If these values are excessively large, the structure or an object is likely located too far from the origin.

    If you do not see the status bar go to View> Status Bar  to toggle it on/off.

    X and Y coordinates, very far from the origin.

    The most common reason for this would be if you have imported a DWG or DXF file from a third party source in to the program that was located very far from the origin, and then proceeded to draw in this area rather than moving it back to the origin.


  2. To move it back to the origin, begin by selecting Window> Fill Window to zoom out so that the entire view fits on the screen.


  3. Now, select Edit> Edit Area> Edit Area (All Floors) , then click and drag a selection marquee around everything in the floor plan.


  4. Once selected, click on the Transform/Replicate Object edit tool.


  5. In the Transform/Replicate Object dialog that displays:

    • Place a check in the Move box.

    • Change the radio button to Absolute Location.

    • Set the X Position/Delta and Y Position/Delta values both to 0".

    • Click OK to apply this change.


  6. Once you have moved the data closer to the origin, select Window> Fill Window again to bring the content back into view.


  7. Finally, create a Perspective Full Overview of the structure to verify that the issue is resolved.

In the future, if you import a DWG or DXF file from an outside source, you'll want to make sure to set it back to the origin before beginning to draw in the structure.


To find and remove a far away object

  1. With the problematic file open, in floor plan view, go to Tools> Layer Settings> Display Options .


  2. Take note of the active layer set, select the Layer Sets drop-down, choose the All Layers ON layer set, then click OK.


  3. Select Window> Fill Window  to zoom out so that the entire view fits on the screen.

    Far away object after using the Fill Window command.

    • If you still only see your design, repeat Step 3 on every floor level in your plan.

    • If there is a far away object, you will be zoomed out and your design will become a small dot along the edge of your screen, as shown in the image above. 

    • If the design is still the content that it's in focus when performing this step, it may be unlikely that you have a far away object that is causing an issue. Please move onto the next section instead


  4. Zoom into the far away object once it has been located, Select  it, and Delete  it.


  5. With the object deleted, select Window> Fill Window   until you're zoomed back into your design.


  6. Go to Tools> Layer Settings> Display Options .


  7. Change your active layer set from All Layers ON back to the layer set that was noted in Step 2, and click OK.


To accommodate large terrain

If you have a very large terrain, and are experiencing z-fighting only when taking a Perspective Full Overview , then you may need to use a standard Full Camera view outside of the structure and adjust it to create the type of view you want. 

Additionally, if you have extended your terrain to have it appear indefinite in camera views we would recommend instead using a smaller terrain perimeter combined with the 
Extend Terrain to Horizon camera setting. This setting can be found by being in a camera, going to Tools> Active View> Edit Active View  and will be on the Camera panel. It can also be set in your Camera Tools Default Settings .


To adjust two objects occupying the same space

If the z-fighting behavior only appears to be in one area of a plan, it is likely that an object is occupying the same space as another object. A common example for this would be if a slab is absolutely even with the terrain, you will notice the flickering of the concrete material of the slab with that of the grass terrain below.

If this is the case, raising the height of the slab, even by so much as 1/16" will typically resolve the issue.


To verify video card requirements

Finally, it is also important to ensure that your video card meets or exceeds the minimum system requirements, and that you are using the most up to date driver which is compatible with your operating system.

If none of the suggestions above resolved the issue, we would recommend you verify these.

System Requirements, including those for the video card, can be located on the website at:
https://www.chiefarchitect.com/products/sysreq.html

If you are unfamiliar with the process to update your video card's driver, basic instructions can be located in the online Knowledge Base article titled "Troubleshooting 3D Camera View Display Problems in Chief Architect" in the Related Articles section below.


ADVANCED TROUBLESHOOTING

If you continue to experience gray screens on your computer, please contact our Technical Support team directly, and include all of the following files listed below.

  1. Create a screenshot image of z-fighting.

    See Knowledge Base article: Creating a Screenshot.


  2. In the problematic file, use the Export Plan/Layout as Project  tool, Backup Entire Plan/Layout  tool, or one of the other supported Export functions to create a backup of your project with all referenced files.

    See Knowledge Base article: Exporting Projects and Disconnected Files.

    See Knowledge Base article: Using the Backup Entire Plan/Layout Tool .


  3. In X17 and newer, export all of the necessary log files using the Export Logs function: 

    See Knowledge Base article: Exporting Log Files to Send to Technical Support. 


    In X16 and prior, export the Message Log and Rendering Log:

    See Knowledge Base article: Locating the Message Log.

    See Knowledge Base article: Locating the Rendering Log.


  4. Export or save your System Information.

    See Knowledge Base article: Retrieving System Information to Send to Technical Support.


  5. Sign in to the Technical Support Center and create a new support case to send to Technical Support.

    See Knowledge Base article: Using the Technical Support Center.



  6. Give the case a short but descriptive title.

    In the text of the case, type a detailed description of the problem
    . The more detailed you are, the more likely we will be to reproduce the issue and identify the problem.

    Click the Browse button and attach the files mentioned above
    , then click Submit.

    Note: Some of the requested information may identify you, as well as specific information about your computer, but it will also help us determine the source of the problem. Please be assured that any files submitted to Chief Architect Technical Support will be used for troubleshooting purposes only.