The information in this article applies to:
I have a number of layer sets entitled "Layer Set #" in my plan that I would like to delete. Why are these being created, and how can I delete them?
Layer sets are an effective way to control not just what displays while you are working, but what displays in the views you send to layout and print.
When you send a view to layout, you have two choices as to which layer set the view uses:
Your choice is maintained between sessions.
If you have a checkmark in Make Copy of Active Layer Set when you send a view to the layout, and do not change the name, the program will create a new layer set with the name of "Layer Set #."
When this option is checked, a copy of the currently active layer set is created for use by the layout view. You can specify a New Name for this layer set if you wish. The copied layer set is saved with the plan file that the view is sent from.
If you uncheck Make Copy of Active Layer Set, instead of creating a new "Layout Set #", the view will reference the currently active layer set in the layout view.
Remember that the layer set used by a layout view is always saved with the plan that the view was originally sent to layout from. For this reason, you should avoid deleting layer sets from a plan unless you are absolutely sure that they are not being used by layout views.
You can find out which layer set a layout view is using by selecting it and clicking the Layout Box Layers edit button.
If you select a layout view and click the Open View edit button, you will return to the original view in the plan file. Bear in mind that the layout view's layer set will be active. If you make changes to its settings, the view on the layout page will be affected.
If the Delete button is grayed out, the selected layer set cannot be deleted. You cannot delete the active layer set or any layer set in use as a default.
Do not delete any layer sets that are used by a layout.