Deleting Objects From a Plan


Reference Number: KB-00196
Last Modified: August 9, 2019

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors



QUESTION

How can I delete specific components from my plan, such as base cabinets from a single room, all of the automatic dimensions on all floors, or my roof framing for example?


ANSWER

The Delete Objects tool can be used to delete entire categories of objects for a single room, for all rooms on a given floor level, or for all floor levels in an existing plan. It will not, however, delete CAD objects or schedules drawn in cross section/elevation views or CAD details.

Additionally, objects can be deleted by tapping the Delete key on your keyboard or by selecting the Delete tool from the Edit menu while an object is selected.


To use the Delete Objects tool

  1. Select Edit> Delete Objects  from the menu.  


  2. In the Delete Objects dialog that displays, select the appropriate option under Delete Scope and check the appropriate boxes next to the categories you wish to delete.

    Delete Objects dialog

    • Choose Single Room to delete objects only in rooms on the current floor that you specify, choose All Rooms on This Floor to delete objects in all rooms on the current floor, or choose All Floors to delete objects on all floors in the plan.

    • Check the box beside any heading to select all of the categories within it; clear the box beside a heading to deselect all of its categories.

    • Click the Select All button to check the boxes beside all of the categories or click the Clear All button to uncheck the boxes beside all of the categories.


  3. With the dialog still open, click in a room or area in your plan to delete objects from the selected categories, or select the Delete button at the bottom of the dialog.


To use the Delete tool

  1. Using the Select Objects tool, click on an object or a selection of objects you wish to delete from your plan.


  2. With the object(s) selected, navigate to Edit> Delete from the menu or tap the Delete key on your keyboard.