Deleting Unused CAD Blocks from a Plan


Reference Number: KB-00380
Last Modified: March 2, 2020

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors



QUESTION

Is there a way I can delete the unused CAD blocks that are referenced in my plan?   


ANSWER

Using the CAD Block Management feature, you can view a list of all CAD blocks referenced in the current plan, rename them, place them into the plan, delete an unused CAD block or quickly purge all unused CAD blocks from the plan.

Deleting or purging unused CAD blocks will allow you to reduce the overall size of your plan.


To manage CAD blocks in a plan

  1. Select CAD> CAD Block Management from the menu.


  2. In the CAD Block Management dialog, a list of all CAD blocks referenced in your plan - up to 490 in total - displays on the left.

    Make sure Automatically Purge CAD Blocks is selected in CAD Block Management

    • To add an item from the list to your plan, click on that item, then click the Insert button. The dialog will close and your cursor will display the CAD Block icon. Click to place the selected CAD block at that location in the current view window.

    • Click on a CAD block in the list, then click the Rename button to rename all instances of that item in the current plan. Items in the library will not be renamed - only objects placed in the plan.

    • Put a checkmark in Automatically Purge CAD Blocks to have the program automatically purge all CAD blocks no longer in use. 


  3. Click the Purge button to clear all CAD blocks that are no longer in use.


  4. Click on an unused CAD block in the list to select it, then click the Delete button to remove it.


  5. When you are satisfied with the CAD block list, click OK to accept the changes or Cancel if you decide you don't want to delete anything.