QUESTION
I would like to lock the end of my wall so I can override the automatic connection, or I would like to restrict certain walls from being selected and moved. Is there a way to do this?
ANSWER
Starting with X18, you can override automatic wall connections by locking the ends of your walls. Alternatively you can place your walls onto a custom layer and lock the custom layer to prevent them from being selected and adjusted.
Locking wall ends*
*Applies to X18 and newer.
- Using the Select Objects
tool, click on a wall you'd like to lock the end of, then select the Edit Wall Layer Intersections
edit tool.
- Select the Auto Connect
icon displayed at the desired wall end to prevent it from moving or re-connecting to nearby walls when in close proximity.
- Using the Select Objects
tool, select the wall again to make any further adjustments; however, keep in mind that unless you explicitly choose to move the wall end(s) manually, they will not move if connected walls are moved.
- To re-enable the automatic wall connection behavior, Select
the wall, click the following Auto Connect
icon, then select Enable Auto Connect
. Re-enabling this behavior will apply the change to both ends of a wall.

Preventing walls from being selected
- Using the Select Objects
tool, click on a wall you'd like to lock from selecting, then use the Open Object
edit tool.
- On the Layer panel of the Wall Specification dialog that displays, take note of the layer name listed here, then click the Define button to open the Layer Display Options dialog.

- The "Walls, Normal" layer is the default layer for walls. Click the Copy button to copy the layer, then click once on the newly copied layer to specify a new name.
In this example, "Walls, Locked" was specified as the name for the new layer.

- Next, click one time in the Lock column for the newly created layer, or check the Lock checkbox to lock this layer.
Locked layers are indicated by a padlock
symbol in the Lock column.

- Click OK to close the dialog and return to the Layer panel of the Wall Specification dialog. The selected wall is now on the "Walls, Locked" layer.
- If it is not on the "Walls, Locked" layer, click the drop-down menu and select "Walls, Locked" from the list.
- Click the OK button to close the dialog and return to floor plan view.
- In floor plan view, the wall's appearance will be unchanged, but you can no longer select, move, or alter the wall.
There are still some cases, such as adjusting the wall type's definition or adjusting the placement of a connected perpendicular wall, where a wall on a locked layer could be moved, so you should always verify your wall dimensions are accurate in your final plan.
- To make changes to the wall, you will first need to unlock the layer it is on:
- Select Tools> Layer Settings> Display Options
to open the Layer Display Options dialog.
- Remove the padlock
from the Lock column for "Walls, Locked" or uncheck the Lock checkbox.
- Click OK to close the dialog. The wall and any other objects on this layer are now unlocked and can be edited as needed.