Using the Backup Entire Plan/Project Tool to Send Files to Another User


Reference Number: KB-00987
Last Modified: December 11, 2018

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors

Home Designer Professional or Home Designer Architectural or Home Designer Suite or Home Designer Interiors or Home Designer Essentials



QUESTION

I would like to send a plan file to someone. What is the best way to send them the file so that they can see all of the materials and other related files, including those that I have created and imported?


ANSWER

Chief Architect plans and layouts often contain many references to other external files so it's necessary to copy all the associated files to a new location when a plan or layout is moved. A copy of your plan along with all of your textures and materials can be quickly and easily created by using the Backup Entire Plan/Project tool.

Reasons you might want to use the Backup Entire Plan/Project tool include:

  • Sending the file to someone using the Chief Architect Desktop Viewer.
  • Submitting a plan to Chief Architect Technical Support for evaluation and troubleshooting.
  • Working with a colleague on plan changes.
  • Migrating legacy files created in older program versions.
  • Transferring files to another computer or sending them to another user.
  • Archiving or backing up your work.


To send a plan in its entirety

  1. Launch Chief Architect and Open  the plan or *layout that you want to send to the person who will be viewing the file.

    *Layouts are only available in Chief Architect Premier, Chief Architect Interiors, and Home Designer Pro.

    Note: If you use the Backup Entire Plan/Project tool while in a layout file, it will back up the layout as well as all the plans associated with the layout. However, if you use the Backup Entire Plan/Project tool while in the plan file, you're only backing up the plan.


  2. Select File> Backup Entire Plan/Project and in the dialog that displays:

    Backup Entire Plan dialog set to backup plan files and all referenced files, and to create a zip archvie.

    • Leave the radio button set to Backup Plan Files and All Referenced Files.

    • Check the Send Backup Files to Zip Archive box to create a compressed/zipped folder if desired.

    • Click OK.


  3. Browse to an easy to find location, such as your Desktop, then click Save.

    Note: If the Send Backup Files to Zip Archive box was not checked in the step above, you will need to create a new, empty file folder on the Desktop for the plan and referenced files to be backed up to. Once the backup is complete, you must compress this newly created folder before it can be sent to someone.

    On a Windows operating system, right-click on the folder containing this content and choose Send To> Compressed (Zipped) folder.

    On a macOS operating system, right-click on the folder and select Compress "Folder name."


  4. If backed up from a plan, a copy of the plan file, including the associated files such as images, textures, and backdrops will now be backed up. If backed up from the *layout, a copy of the layout, all plan files sent to the layout, and the associated files such as images, textures, and backdrops will now be backed up.

    *Layouts are only available in Chief Architect Premier, Chief Architect Interiors, and Home Designer Pro.


  5. You're now ready to send the compressed/zipped folder to another Chief Architect user or to Chief Architect Technical Support using the Online Support Center.

    If sending your files to Chief Architect Technical Support, please do not use third party compression utilities in order to submit different compressed file types such as .zipx, .7z, and .rar files.