Creating a Custom Plan Template from an Existing Project


Reference Number: KB-03094
Last Modified: January 14, 2020

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors



QUESTION

I have created a plan and want to use it as a starting point for future projects. What is the best way to do this?


ANSWER

Chief Architect contains tools that allow you to create a custom template. In this article, we will discuss how to use these tools to create a custom template derived from an existing project.


To create a plan template in X12 and newer

In X12 and newer it is possible to take an existing plan and turn it into a template without any old information being retained in the file.

  1. Open the plan that you want to create a template from.


  2. Select File> Templates> Save as Template Save as Template button icon from the menu.


  3. Determine what items, if any, you would like to keep in the template and deselect those boxes. If you would like everything deleted, make sure Delete All is selected.

    Determine what to delete in the Save as Template dialog box.

    This is also where you decide if you want to set this as the default template for Imperial or Metric plans.


  4. Click OK to get prompted to provide a name for the file and choose a location on your computer to save it to.


Transferring wall type definitions

Wall type definitions are customizable and saved in your plan file. If you want to transfer custom, predefined wall types to a new template, you can export and import them into a new template.

  1. Open the plan that contains your custom wall types.


  2. Select File> Export> Export Wall Definitions Export Wall Definitions icon from the menu.


  3. Provide a name for the file and choose a location on your computer to save it to.


  4. To import the wall type definitions, open a new plan, and select File> Import> Import Wall Definitions Import Wall Definitions icon.


  5. If prompted to replace wall types with the same name, you can select Yes or No. For this example we are selecting Yes.

    Replace existing wall types dialog.


Transferring layer sets

Layer sets control the display of all the layers in your plan and their styles.

  1. Open the plan that contains your custom layers and layer sets.


  2. Select File> Export> Export Layer Sets Export Layer Sets icon from the menu.


  3. Provide a name for the file and choose a location on your computer to save it to.


  4. To import the layer sets, open your new plan and select File> Import> Import Layer Sets Import Layer Sets icon from the menu.


  5. Select the layer sets that you wish to import and check or uncheck the box to Replace Identically Named Layers.


  6. Click OK.


Transferring default/annotation sets

Default sets, which were called annotation sets in X11 and prior versions, allow you to control several text-related defaults at the same time.

  1. Open the plan that contains your default/annotation sets.


  2. Select File> Export> Export Default Sets Export Annotation Sets icon from the menu.


  3. Provide a name for the file and choose a location on your computer to save it to.


  4. To import the default/annotation sets, open your new plan and select File> Import> Import Default Sets Import Annotation Sets icon from the menu.


  5. In the Import Default Sets dialog, choose the options that suit your needs.

    Import default sets dialog set to overwrite and replace the existing defaults.

    In this example, we will use the following options:

    • Overwrite Existing Defaults.

    • Replace Existing Defaults.


Transferring default settings

You can transfer default settings from one plan to another, allowing the new plan to inherit predefined settings such as default wall types, room types, etc.

  1. Open your new plan.


  2. Select File> Import> Import Default Settings Import Defaults icon from the menu.


  3. Browse to the existing plan you need the defaults from, and click Open.


  4. Select the default setting you want to import and click OK.

With your default settings updated from the existing plan, select File> Templates> Save as Template Save as Template icon to save this plan as a template for new plans.