Installing Chief Architect on Multiple Computers


Reference Number: KB-00956
Last Modified: November 28, 2016

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors


QUESTION

I just installed Chief Architect on a second computer and tried to start the program, but a warning message tells me that the license is already in use or asks for my Emergency Transfer Password. What does all this mean?


ANSWER

Although you can install Chief Architect on multiple computers, a single license of the program can only be active on one computer at a time.

If you have multiple people who need to be able to use the software, or want to be able to run on more than one computer at the same time, then as per the End User License Agreement (EULA), you must purchase a separate license for each person/machine.  To learn more, visit https://www.chiefarchitect.com/products/.

If you have 
Software Lock Security, have been running the program on one computer, and wish to run it on a different computer, you must deactivate your license on the first machine.

To deactivate Chief Architect X6 and newer versions

To deactivate Chief Architect X5 and prior

Note: You must be connected to the internet to activate, or deactivate your license.

Once activated Chief Architect can go without internet access for up to two weeks.

If you need to go without internet for longer than two weeks, consider buying a hardware lock for your software. More information on security options can be found here: https://www.chiefarchitect.com/support/security.html


To deactivate Chief Architect X6 and newer versions via the software

  1. Launch the program on the computer where your license is active and select Help> Deactivate License from the menu.


  2. Click Yes to confirm that you wish to deactivate the license.


  3. After a pause, a second message will inform you that the license has been successfully deactivated.

    Other aspects of the installation, such as custom library content, custom toolbars, and custom template plans, are unaffected and will be ready for use if you later reactivate the license on this computer.


With your license deactivated, you are now free to activate it on another machine by simply launching the program while connected to the internet.

If you do not deactivate your license prior to switching to a new computer, upgrading your operating system, or renaming the computer, then you will be prompted to Activate your product by using your product key and email address, and when it fails activation, you have the option of manually deactivate using the method above or you can deactivate remotely by logging into your My Account.


To deactivate X6 and newer online remotely through My Account on the website

  1. Log in to your account on the following page: https://login.chiefarchitect.com/login. If you forgot your password click on the "Lost your password?" link to have a temporary password emailed to you. 

  2. Once you are logged in, click on Manage Your Active Licenses under the Available Services section to take you to the Manage License Activations page. This page will list the computer's name which currently holds the activated license and your product key. Click the Deactivate button to deactivate the license.




  3. Click OK on the "Are you sure you want to deactivate this license?" message and when you see that the license has been deactivated close out of the web page.




  4. Since the license is now available you should be able to activate without an error message.


    You can also view a video on License Management here.

To deactivate Chief Architect X5 and prior

  1. Launch the program on the computer where your license is active and select Help> Deactivate License from the menu.


  2. Click Yes to confirm that you wish to deactivate the license.


  3. After a pause, a second message will inform you that the license has been successfully deactivated.

    Other aspects of the installation, such as custom library content, custom toolbars, and custom template plans, are unaffected and will be ready for use if you later reactivate the license on this computer.


With your license deactivated, you are now free to activate it on another machine by simply launching the program while connected to the internet.

In some instances, such as if your computer crashes, you may not have the opportunity to properly deactivate your license.  Should this occur, you can still launch Chief Architect on another machine by using your Emergency Transfer Password, provided that the new computer has Internet access.

Your Emergency Transfer Password is provided at the end of the program's 
Registration Wizard, on the "Completing the Chief Architect Secure Registration Wizard" page. The instructions on that page recommend that you save the password in a safe location for future use.

To complete an Emergency License Transfer

  1. Launch Chief Architect on a computer with an active Internet connection where your license is not currently active.


  2. A warning message will display, telling you that the license is already active elsewhere and requesting your Emergency Transfer Password.


  3. Type in your Emergency Transfer Password and click OK.


As long there is an active Internet connection, the license will be deactivated on the old machine and become active on the current computer. 

Emergency License Transfers should
NOT be viewed as an alternative to properly deactivating your license before switching to a different computer.

They are intended to be used in emergency situations only, and only three are provided with your Chief Architect license.  If you use all three, no more will be provided until you contact Chief Architect Sales and purchase additional transfers.