Using Chief Architect on Multiple Computers


Reference Number: KB-00956
Last Modified: April 30, 2021

The information in this article applies to:

Chief Architect Premier or Chief Architect Interiors



QUESTION

Can I run Chief Architect on more than one computer at a time? I receive a message stating "License Deactivation Required." What should I do?


ANSWER

The software is a single-user license intended for only one person; however, you can install the software on as many computers as needed (Mac and Windows). A single software license can only be active on one of your computers at a time. You will need your product key and an internet connection to switch between your computers. If you need access to the software for multiple users, you must purchase a separate license for each person. Contact our Sales team to learn more about purchasing additional licenses.

If you have already installed the software and are met with the message above, you will want to manage your license - Learn how below

If you need to install the software onto a secondary computer, you can download the program by accessing your Digital Locker.

Do note that plan and layout files that were designed and saved on one computer will need to be transferred to the secondary computer if you'd like to continue working on them. Consider utilizing the Backup Entire Plan/Project tool prior to transferring Chief Architect files between computers.

It's also important to remember to only work on plan and layout files that are saved on your local machine's hard drive. Working on files over a network server, external hard drive, cloud storage service, or USB flash drive type device is not recommended, as file corruption and data loss can occur.

Deactivating a license on any particular machine does not affect a rental plan or auto renewal process for payment. If you'd like to stop your rental, please contact our Sales team.


To manage a license

  1. Make sure that you have an active internet connection.


  2. Deactivate your license using one of the following methods:

    • Option 1: If you don't have access to the computer the license is active on or would like to deactivate remotely, sign in to your Account, click on Digital Locker: Downloads, Product Keys, & License Management, and then click on the Make Available button. Click OK to confirm that you want to deactivate the license.

    • Option 2: If you have access to the computer the license is currently active on and would like to deactivate locally, launch the Chief Architect program, select Help> Manage License from the menu, then click Yes to confirm that you wish to deactivate the license. The program will close indicating your license has been successfully deactivated.

    Note: Custom library content, custom toolbars, and custom template plans are unaffected and will be ready for use if you later reactivate the license on this computer.

  3. With your license deactivated, you are now free to activate it on the machine of your choice by simply launching the program while connected to the internet.

    If you will be traveling to a location without internet access, take a moment to activate your license while the internet is available. Once a license has been activated on a computer, that computer can go without internet access for up to two weeks before the program will require it to confirm the license registration status.


Note: If you do not deactivate your license prior to switching to a different computer, upgrading your operating system or renaming the computer, then you will be presented with the message mentioned at the beginning of this article.

If you're unable to activate or deactivate your license, or require further assistance, please contact our Customer Service team.